Television Broadcasting Facilities.—As at Nov. 1, 1955 there were 26 television broadcasting stations in operation on the English network (six of which were CBC owned) and four under construction. On the French network, four stations were in operation (two of which were CBC owned) and two were under construction. These stations were located and powered as follows:—

6.-Broadcasting Stations of CBC Television Networks as at Nov. 1, 1955

Note.—The stations marked with an asterisk (*) are CBC owned.

Station Location		Chan- nel	Power V	Power A	Station Location	Chan- nel	Power V	Power A
			kw.	kw.			kw.	kw.
CION-TV CICB-TV CICB-TV CICB-TV CHSJ-TV CKCW-TV CBMT CHEX-TV CCKWS-TV CCKWS-TV CKWS-TV CKCH-TV CKCH-TV CKCH-TV CKCW-TV CKCO-TV CKWS-TV CKWS-TV CKWS-TV CKWS-TV CKCT-TV CKWS-TV CTPA-TV CKX-TV CFQC-TV	St. John's Sydney Halifax Sydney Halifax Saint John Moncton Montreal Ottawa Peterborough Kingston Toronto Barrie Hamilton Kitchener London Windsor Sudbury Sudbury Sault Ste. Marie Port Arthur Winnipeg Brandon Saskatoon	4 3 4 2 6 4 12 11 9 3 11 13 10 9 5 2 2 4	1.06 100 56.5 27.8 5 43.8 50.1 102 101 25.65 14 16.9 16.0 117 178 1.74 5.16 5.10 56.2 19.3	0.634 60 33.8 13.9 3 26.2 26.7 61.2 60.6 12.72 7	English Network—concluded CKCK-TV Regina. CFRN-TV Edmonton. CHCT-TV Calgary. **CBUT Vancouver. CKNX-TV Wingham. Under Construction— CFCY-TV Charlottetown. CKGN-TV North Bay. CFCL-TV Timmins. CJLH-TV Lethbridge. French Network— CJBR-TV Rimouski. CFCM-TV Quebec. **CBFT Montreal. **CBOFT Ottawa. Under Construction— CKRS-TV Jonquières. CKRS-TV Sherbrooke.	3 2 2 8 13 10 6 7	18·9 27·4 100 102 20 21 28·5 18·5 102·8 34·0 1·27 15·7 31 20 17·3	10-0 13·7 50 55·2 12 12·5 14·25 9·25 57·5 19·4 635 8·28 17

It was estimated that at the end of March 1955 more than 70 p.c. of all Canadians were within reach of the national television system. Although the linking of all Canadian television stations from coast to coast for instantaneous telecasting of programs may take several years because of the distances and difficult terrain involved, microwave facilities had reached Windsor, Ont., on the west and Quebec City on the east by July 1955.

When television broadcasting began in September 1952, 146,000 television sets were in use in Canada. One year later the number had tripled and by July 1955 more than 1,400,000 receivers were in use in Canadian homes.

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation Service.—The CBC is organized in the following divisions: Program, International Service, Engineering, Commercial, Press and Information, Broadcast Regulations, Station Relations, Personnel and Administration, and Treasury. Head Office is at Ottawa, but in order to present programs at suitable times and to give expression to varying interests across Canada, the CBC maintains regional offices at St. John's, Nfld., Halifax, N.S., Montreal, Que., Toronto, Ont., Winnipeg, Man., and Vancouver, B.C. Production facilities are maintained at St. John's, Nfld., Sydney and Halifax, N.S., Moncton, N.B., Chicoutimi, Quebec and Montreal, Que., Ottawa, Toronto and Windsor, Ont., Winnipeg, Man., Regina, Sask., Edmonton, Alta., and Vancouver and Prince Rupert, B.C.

Domestic Radio Program Service.—During the year ended Mar. 31, 1955, 69,222 programs representing 21,905 hours of broadcasting were presented over the CBC Trans-Canada, Dominion and French networks. Of the total broadcasting hours 86.0 p.c. were devoted to non-commercial and public service programs and the remainder to commercial presentations. Of the total broadcasting hours in 1954-55, 66.7 p.c. was scheduled on the Trans-Canada network, the Dominion network released 7.5 p.c. and the remainder was released on the French network.